top of page
RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:

Philippines-Cebu East Mission--Week 18


Service project

​

Kamusta mo! 6 months down...1 year to go... Time is like 'Speedy Gonzalez'... pas pas kaajo! (really fast!) I wasn't able to email last Monday because this week is Transfer week. Everyone is getting new transfer calls and transferring on Thursday.. myself included. :( ​

On August 6th, Thursday, Sister Orzal and I traveled to Valencia and participated in the Zone Traing Meeting. It was kind of a sad zone training meeting because it was going to be the last one we had all together before transfer day. I was called to give a shining moment for my companion, which is where you say some things that you really love about your companion. Some things that you notice he/she does that stand out to you, something that makes them unique. I ended up talking about Sister Orzal saying how she's really patient and kind to me. She's also really helpful when it comes to the language, or when I'm sick orhurt.

I remember this one time, I had split my big toe open on our door, and so I had to wear flip flops for a while because my regular shoes rubbed against the cut. And we were walking to a member's house, and you have to climb some little hills, and it was really muddy and wet everywhere. Sister Orzal didn't want my cut to get infected so she said, "Here, you hop on one foot and hold on to me, and I'll help you climb up the hill." So that's what we did, because it sounded like a sane idea . . . but it wasn't. I ended up slipping on mud and I fell down and rolled, and then she fell on top of me and rolled. And we had a member with us, and she was just laughing so hard when that happened. It was the funniest thing ever. We ended up all muddy, and wet. But anyway, back to the zone training meeting. It was a very inspirational meeting. The Sister training leaders and zone leaders had really good advice for us to become better disciples of the Lord. I'm hoping I can take what I learned and apply it to my missionary life!

On Saturday morning, August 8th, Sister Orzal and I got to participate in a community service project planting trees in Duero. The people that ended up helping were Sister Bolo, her companion, Sister Mangompit, Sister Orzal, Elder Borrego, some members and me. It was such a fun CSP. Many scary, funny moments that happened during it. We all had to climb up this steep street and grab some of the little trees we were going to plant. Then this truck came by and we put the trees in the back, and all hopped in and rode about 20 minutes to where we'd plant the trees. It was such a fun ride. When we finally got to our destination, we got out, picked up the little trees, and then got to climb this super steep, muddy, wet, rocky, dangerous cliff. It was . . . fun! I probably slipped a dozen times while climbing that hill--true story. ;) So, this funny, scary thing happened as I was climbing. I ended up slipping on some mud and rolled downhill a bit. It was so funny. Everyone was laughing so hard. After that, everywhere I walked, I'd slip a bit and then almost fall backwards. It was so scary! It was super hard walking up the hill with trees in your hands. But then when I got to the the top of the hill, there was this beautiful view! It was this flat land with trees everywhere.

I started thinking about my experience and I likened it to "enduring to the end" when it comes to this life. The rocky/muddy hill is our life--it's so hard to climb and sometimes you feel like giving up. But every time you slip and fall, the Lord is there to help pick you back up and send you on your way again; and then.. if you hold on and keep climbing, you make it to the top and get to enjoy God's greatest gift, eternal life. I love being able to take experiences that happen to me on the mission and apply it to the Gospel.

On August 11th, Tuesday, Sister Orzal and I went to the Jagna church and participated in the District meeting. The last district meeting all together. I was definitely not ready to hear where I was transferring. I want to just stay in Jagna! I love all of the members and want to be with them forever! But unfortunately, that's not how life works. It was a really good district meeting and I'm glad we all left on a good note before transferring. After the district meeting, the zone leaders, Elder Connoly and Elder Banawan, announced where everyone was transferring.

"Dun dun dun!". . . I'm transferring to. . . Cebu Island! My new area will be Carmen, Danou Zone, and my new companion will be Sister Canar. Everyone tells me she's so funny and buotan (nice). I'm really hoping she can help me to become fluent this transfer. To tell you the truth, this language is a big barrier for me. It's what's holding me back from hitting my highest potential as a missionary. I love Bisaya so much and I want to be bisdak already. "Good things come to those who wait."

But some good news, I found out that my STL will be my trainer, Sister Lagan!! I'm so happy and excited to see her once again. Before transfer calls, I had a feeling I would see her again and be companions before her mission ends in September this year. Even though we won't officially be companions, she's my STL and can go on splits with me whenever she wants. Whoop whoop!

Also, the good thing about being on the Cebu island is: 1) I'll be on the same island as President Tanner so he can come and visit whenever, and 2) I'll be on the same island as the Cebu Temple! So I might be able to visit it one of these transfers! I'm excited.

My emotions are like a roller coaster right now. I'm nervous, scared, excited, happy,and sad! I'm really hoping this next transfer will be good like my others. Everyone tells me that your 2nd area is usually the one that changes you the most. You learn the language more, your Christ-like attributes grow more, and your desire to serve the Lord grows more. I can't wait! Wish me luck everyone!

"What lies behind us and what lies before us are small matters compared to what lies within us."

I love you all and hope you have on awesome week! Talk to you on Monday! <3

Love,

Sister Johnson

bottom of page