top of page
RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:

Philippines Mission:Week 20-3 Baptisms!


My new area!

Maayong palis! (Good afternoon) Kamusta mo?!

Well... here's my week so far.. It's kind of gamay (little) but it's been good!

On Friday, August 21st, Sister Canar and I visited a less active who hasn't come to church for a couple of years. Her name is Angelee, she's 23 years old and has the cutest little son ever. We ended up teaching her about "baptism and confirmation" and about her covenant she made with God when she got baptized. She told us it's been a couple of years since she was active in the church, but that she really wants to return and become active again. I ended up sharing Moroni 6:4-6, which is about why we go to church. We go to church to learn about God and His Son Jesus Christ, and the most important thing about going to church . . . we go to partake of the Sacrament, to renew our covenants of baptism, and remember the atoning sacrifice of Jesus Christ.

Sister Angelee had SO many questions about this gospel. She couldn't remember things about Joseph Smith or the Godhead, and so we had to answer many questions to help her remember what she once believed. After we answered her questions, we committed her to return back to church, and she said, "Yes. I need to go to church this Sunday." I could see that desire in her eyes that she really wanted to return and remember again.

Then on Sunday, August 23rd, Sister Canar and I attended church. Church here is a little different from back home, or even in my 1st area. Because our area is so big, people live so far from the church and so instead of Sacrament first, they have classes like Relief Society/Priesthood, and combined, and then they have Sacrament after. But this Sunday was so awesome! Sister Canar and I had an investigator, Sister Tata Pacana, attend church with her husband; and the less active sister we taught on Friday, Sister Angelee, attended church with her son! It was so awesome seeing her keep her commitment and return back to church. She looked like she really enjoyed herself. Everyone was talking with her and asking her questions to get her involved. I loved looking over at her and seeing her with a big smile on her face.

After church, Sister Canar and I visited our investigator who attended church earlier, Sister Tata Pacana. Sister Tata is married to a member who has been less active for 5 years because he's a sea man and is always busy. But she's been taking lessons and really enjoys listening to the missionaries. Towards the end of the lesson, I had this burning feeling in my heart that I needed to commit her to baptism. After Sister Canar committed Sister Tata to pray about Joseph Smith and the Book of Mormon, I then looked at Sister Tata and committed her to baptism on September 26th. She was a little hesitant at first, and said that she wants to, but isn't quite ready. We then explained that September 26 is a goal date for her baptism, and that we're here for her every step of the way to prepare for her baptism. She then said, "Okay, yes." So that was a totally awesome lesson!

Then that night, Sister Canar and I visited a wife and husband that have been investigators for 2 years so far and still haven't been baptized. At first the husband said that it was fine if the family listened to the missionaries, but they're not allowed to be baptized; but then we visited him again and he said that it was okay for his wife and children to be baptized, but he's just not ready right now to be baptized. For our lesson we explained why it's so important to be baptized the way Jesus Christ was baptized; immersion by water, and with proper authority of God. He had a lot of questions and a LOT of doubts. He's very, very Catholic and doesn't really want to change religions. But whenever he'd ask a question, we'd have an answer, and every time I looked in his eyes, I could see that desire he has to know the truth. I can see him wanting to be baptized in the one true church, he's just scared.

This transfer has been fun, stressful, tiring and frustrating all at once. I'm the only American missionary left that has been in the mission longer than the newer American missionaries, so a lot of people are looking up to me and expecting me to get the language down and be fluent already. And not to mention, Sister Canar and I have to travel from our home in Danao, to our area, Carmen, which takes about 30-40 minutes, and we do that every day. So that's the most tiring part of the day. Our area is so big that it's so hard for me to remember where everyone lives and who is who.

I know that during this transfer the Lord is really going to test me and see if I truly am faithful to Him. But I'm so grateful for this life I have right now. I'm grateful I chose to serve a mission. There is no way that I would have ever changed if I had stayed home. This mission has helped test my patience with myself and others. It's helped me be more diligent, selfless, caring,and loving. Of course, I'm still not the most patient, diligent, loving, selfless person, but I KNOW that with the Lord I can develop those Christ-like attributes He possesses.

But, what has been nindot about this week is that Sister Canar and I have gotten some new investigators, and committed 3 people for baptism on September 26th. And of course, none of that would have happened if we didn't have the Lord on our side.

I know that Jesus Christ is our Savior and our Redeemer. I know that He lives and loves us; and I know that The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is His church, the one true church here on this earth.

I love you all! Amping kanunay! (Take care always)

Love,

Sister Johnson

bottom of page