top of page
RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:

Philippines Mission--Week 39


Maajong buntag and HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

Here's my lovely, short, letter for the week!

December 30th, Wednesday, Sister Dayhop and I finally got to teach Brother Jeonly (was a recent convert but moved to Cebu for work) because he returned to Bohol and let us teach him! He came to church the Sunday before and is letting us share with him while he's here. We followed up on reading/praying and then focused our message on praying because he hasn't been really praying.

After teaching him we traveled to Garcia and taught Sister Adelyn and Sister Dodo about obedience/reading/praying. Sister Adelyn and Sister Dodo really want to be baptized but their husbands won't let them. We've been teaching them for a while but their husbands still won't let them be baptized because they're Catholic. We've extended baptismal dates but because of their husbands, they don't want to agree to a date. It's so hard because they're so awesome! They always read/pray and go to church.

December 31st, Thursday, our STL's slept over because they were going on exchanges with us! So Sister Villegas and I in the morning caught a bus to Jagna because their new area is Jagna. I got to return to my first area and go on splits! I was pretty excited that I got to go on splits with Sister Villegas again and I got to teach in Jagna. Our 1st appointment was with Brother Berting, a less active that I used to visit! It was awesome being able to see him again and teach him. When he saw me he kind of did a 'double take' to make sure it really was me. He then said to me, "Hey! You returned!" We taught him about Heavenly Father and His love for all of us.

We then went and taught Sister Lavigne, (my investigator before) about prophets and their role. It was so awesome to be able to see old faces that I have taught/visited before and seeing how they've progressed/what they need help with. After teaching them we returned back to Valencia and just evaluated the day/our work. It was fun being able to work again with Sister Villegas, especially since she leaves home in about 25 days!

2016:

January 1st, Friday, It's a NEW YEAR! Even though it's a new year, the work is still the same on a mission. We had our weekly planning session and then went and taught Sister Dory at Sister Paz's home. We taught her about prophets/Christ's church and Joseph Smith. We committed her to be baptized and she said she really wants to be. The problem is she works in Manila and she doesn't exactly know when she'll be returning. After teaching her, we walked to Ilaya and finally got to teach Sister Marisel again. We taught her the same lesson as Sister Dory and also committed her to be baptized as well. She was hesitant to say 'yes' but we told her to pray about our message and we will return and talk more.

We then went and had an FHE with the Arais family! It was so fun! We played 'Simon Says' (I had to teach them because they'd never played it before. We then played some Philippines games (I'll teach you all when I get home) and then ate some food! Best part of an FHE. (haha)

January 2nd, Saturday, Sister Dayhop and I went on splits in Garcia. She went to Libertad (mountain area) and taught some investigators and I got to stay down (not in the mountain area) and teach some investigators/less actives. My companion was Sister Lovely and weI taught Adelyn and Dodo about keeping the Sabbath Day holy and baptismal covenants we should make. They really want to be baptized but again, the husbands don't feel like they should be. After teaching them, we went to the Cordova family (inactive) and taught them about enduring to the end. I let Sister Lovely share her favorite scripture and she was awesome at teaching them! It was like she was already a missionary.

January 3rd, Sunday, Sister Dayhop and I went on splits again after our church/meetings. She went to Garcia and taught the Caseres family/Emma Smalley, and I stayed in Valencia and taught Jeonly and Rebecca. My companions were Sister Lovely, Sister Marisel and Brother Donald. We visited Jeonly first and gave him an overview of the Restoration. Even though it's been a while since he was taught, he still remembered everything pretty well! After teaching him, he joined us and we all went and taught Sister Rebecca. I just let them share their favorite scripture and how we can apply it into our lives. It was awesome having the single adults with me because all of them want to serve a mission and for them they can practice being a missionary.

After teaching, we travelled back to Sister Paz's home and helped cook some dinner because every Sunday we all get together and eat at Sister Paz's home!

Instead of focusing on something that you can change for the new year, ask yourself this question, "What Lack I Yet?" and see what you're lacking in your life and fix it!

Love you all! Stay safe. Be happy and adventurous this year!

Love,

Sister Johnson

bottom of page