top of page
RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:

The Philippines--Week 48


Maayong udto! This letter is actually from last, last week, but I forgot to type it up and send it. Sorry! Enjoy! March 10th, Thursday: Today is transfer day! The day that I pick up my new companion Sister McMaster! SIster Nalbog and I were companions this day because our new companions hadn't come yet. So today we went and visited one of the less actives in Sister Nalbog's area. We reminded her about her covenant that she made with God when she got baptized, AND when she got endowed. She's been coming back to church, but of course, we want to remind her so she will keep coming. She was so sweet. After we taught her, she gave us some lunch! She made us some fried fish, rice and noodles. We were pretty full afterwards because she just kept telling us, "Eat! Eat!"

The zone leaders then called us and told us to come to the Bogo chapel because our companions would be there soon. When we got to the chapel and walked into the door where everyone was, Sister McMaster (my new companion) ran right up to me and gave me a hug and said, "Sister Johnson! I've been praying to be your companion!" She told me that before transfers, she knew that she'd be transferring, so in her prayers she asked to be companions with either her MTC companion or with me. We started talking and getting to know each other and we're pretty similar! It's crazy how we have a lot of things in common.

March 12th, Saturday, Sister McMaster and I went to Canhabagat today and we ended up teaching Sister Robylyn and Brother JunJun. We gave them The Book of Mormon and explained a bit about it, but the lesson we focused on was Christ's church before and the Great Apostasy. They're so open to listening! Sister Robylyn afterwards told us that her husband told her that there isn't one true church here on earth, they're all the same. But then she told us, "I really like listening to your messages. I learn a lot more than I have been before." I'm excited to see her start progressing more!

March 13th, Sunday, Sister McMaster and I traveled to Bogo because it was a district conference this Sunday! We got to listen to some pretty good talks. And in the middle of the conference, President Tanner told all of the missionaries to come to the front and sing "Called To Serve" with all of the members. It was really awesome being able to sing that song with everyone. You could really feel the Spirit strongly. I loved it.

After the conference, we traveled back to Don Pedro and finally got to teach one of our investigators, Jonathon. He had trouble understanding the Godhead, so we focused on that and helped him to understand it. He used to have a baptismal date, but he wasn't progressing. He tells us that he loves coming to church, and loves listening to the messages, but when it comes to baptism now, he doesn't want to leave his church, because "I was born a Catholic, I'll die a Catholic." it's kind of sad to see him denying what he feels in his heart to be true. But I'm hoping that he turns around and decides to be baptized.

After teaching him, we went and taught Brother Aldrin Barrios, he's a less active but really wants to come to church and go on a mission but he just has trouble with fare to get to church. We taught him about missionary work and encouraged him to work more with us so he can practice. He really wants to go and he'd be perfect because he's the sweetest kid ever! He's so nice to everyone and always has a smile on his face. No joke. He's so awesome.

The letter is kind of short, but I hope that you enjoyed it!

I love you all! Amping kanunay!

Love,

Sister Johnson

bottom of page