top of page
RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:

Philippines Cebu East--Week 61--Two more baptisms!

Maayong buntag! Can you believe that I only have about 11 weeks left?? Gamay kaayo.

June 1st, Wednesday, Sister Calagui and I had our last p-day together and then I went and said 'goodbye' to some members and investigators. It was pretty sad, but for some reason I didn't cry like I usually do! I think I'm just so used to transferring and getting my heart broken that I've learned to kind of just numb my feelings when it comes to transferring.

June 2nd, Thursday, Today I transferred! Our alarm didn't go off in the morning and so I had to hurry up and finish packing and then the senior couple picked me up and took me to the bus terminal to catch a bus heading to Consolacion, my new area! I finally arrived to the Consolacion church and met my new companion, Sister Paget! We were pretty excited to become companions. We already knew each other because we were in the same zone in Bohol and were companions for like a day. She's from Bountiful, Utah, and is the funniest ever! She's so sweet and always tries to make others laugh and feel happy.

After we got our new companions, we went right to work after dropping off my luggage. We first visited an investigator with a baptismal date, Sister Janice. We taught her about baptism because she was a little confused on the subject. But after teaching her, she seemed to have understood a lot better about what baptism really is and why it's necessary. We then visited Brother Alfredo and taught him a bit about the priesthood/baptism because he kind of thinks that all you have to do is be a good guy and you have the priesthood. Brother Alfredo had a stroke and he's always telling us that he prays and asks to be healed completely but God never gives him his wish. He thinks that he can be magically healed if he just prays. He says that he wants to come to church but it's hard for him to walk because of the stroke.

After teaching Brother Alfredo, we visited a part member with a baptism, Sister Brina and taught her about missionary work/service. She's so receptive and ready for the gospel! I'm excited for her baptism.

June 3rd, Friday, Today Sister Paget and I visited a less active, Sister Analyn, and shared with her about agency and how important it is to choose Jesus Christ always. She hasn't told us the reason why she stopped coming to church, but we're pretty sure that it was because she's offended. And according to Sister Paget, she's even been offended by some of the missionaries visiting her and teaching her. We then visited an investigator, Juwarsi, who is really progressing and wants to be bapitzed, but he's not married and so he can't quite yet. We taught him about prayer because he told us that he sometimes doesn't feel like praying. We shared from 2 Nephi 32 about how Satan tempts us to not pray or makes us feel like we're not worthy enough to pray to Heavenly Father. He's made a lot of mistakes in his past and regrets a lot of it and still has guilt so he feels like he's not worthy enough to change. We then went and visited a part member with a baptism on Saturday! Sister Brina was pretty excited but a little nervous for her baptism at the same time. we taught her about enduring to the end, and that after her baptism she needs to continue in order to receive the fullness of the blessings that God has promised her. She's ready!

June 4th, Saturday, today is Brina Liston's baptism! Even though I came in towards the end to teach her and witness her baptism, I'm still very excited to witness another baptism of God's child. The best part was that some Elders that baptized other members in her family got to come back and baptize her! She was so excited about that.

June 5th, Sunday, today was my first time going to the Canduman Ward! It was fast Sunday, but being a new missionary in the area, they sort of expect you to bear your testimony. I ended up giving my testimony, and this brand new Elder to the field got to give his testimony as well! He was SO nervous because it was his first time going to church in the field. After we gave our testimonies, the members got up and started bearing their testimonies. I felt the Spirit strongly and I loved being able to hear new testimonies from other people. I also witnessed Sister Brina getting confirmed a member of the church. It was a pretty cool confirmation because the counselor said that she would become a 'full-time missionary'! So far, I don't think I've heard someone say that during a confirmation. It's pretty awesome!

I love you all! Amping!

Love,

Sister Johnson

bottom of page